Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Posted on: Mar 16, 2015


Holland Hall’s Dutch Athletic Hall of Fame will induct its newest honorees on Friday, May 8 at the Doubletree Hotel Warren Place.  Six former athletic greats, a dedicated coach, and a team that won three straight conference championships make up the eighth group to be recognized since the Hall of Fame began in 2007.


The Dutch Athletic Hall of Fame was established to recognize individuals and teams that brought honor to themselves, their school, and their community through their athletic achievements.


The Dutch Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2015 includes six individual inductees.  Julie Yeabower ’77, Tulsa, was a three-sport athlete in field hockey, soccer and softball.  Karen Ham ’88, Tulsa, excelled in field hockey, basketball and track and field.  David Todd ’91, San Francisco, made his mark in football, basketball and track and field.  Two-sport phenom Trent Tucker ’93, Tulsa, will be honored for his contributions in cross country and tennis.  Derek Matheson ’95, Owasso, Okla., starred on the football and baseball fields and the basketball court.  Roy Johnson ’74, Birmingham, Ala., a soccer and baseball athlete at Holland Hall, will receive a special award for his lifetime contributions to athletics as a journalist, broadcaster, and philanthropist.


Coach Ed Hooker will be posthumously honored for his 25 years of dedicated service to Holland Hall, both on and off the athletic fields.  Hooker coached football, baseball and golf during his time leading the Dutch.


One of Holland Hall’s most impressive championship teams will also be recognized, the 2003 – 2005 boys golf team, which one 3 straight conference championships.  Players on the team were:


            Class of 2003 – John Chadwick, U.K., Shannon Begnel, Edmond, Okla.


            Class of 2005 – Daris Schell, posthumously, Jack Yandell, San Francisco, Spencer Fielding, Dallas, Sam Herrin, Denver, Terence Begnel, Midland, Texas, Scott Allen, Tulsa, Rob Lawley, Dallas, Ryan Darrow, Tulsa.


            Class of 2006 – Steven Berklacy II, Oklahoma City, Kyle Spencer, Houston.


            Class of 2008 – Jeff Klappenbach, Edmond, Okla., Ben Von Drehle, Denver.


            Coach – Sparky Grober, Tulsa. 


“The Hall of Fame seeks to recognize and honor the great athletes who brought recognition to Holland Hall,” says Steve Heldebrand, Holland Hall athletic director, “and to showcase to our current student athletes these motivating influences.”


The Dutch Athletic Hall of Fame will take place on Friday, March 8, at 6 p.m. at the Doubletree Hotel Warren Place, 6110 S. Yale Ave.  A reception for inductees, families and friends will follow the ceremony.  For tickets, please contact Christy Utter, director of alumni relations, at 918.879.4745 or cutter@hollandhall.org.