Distinguished Alumni Awards

The Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest honor bestowed on an alumnus/a of Holland Hall. It recognizes an alumnus/a who demonstrates exceptional service on a local, state, or national level, exhibits a high degree of character and integrity, exemplifies accomplishment in his or her profession, and whose achievements, affiliations, and career(s) have honored the legacy of excellence at Holland Hall.

The Young Alumni Achievement Award recognizes the alumnus/a from the last 15 years who excels in his or her profession or pursuit of higher education and has made a significant mark on the community in which he or she lives.

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2019 – Phil Powers ’79 and Dan Wilk ’88
2018 – Dr. Cristin Moran ’92 and Jeremy Hays ’99
2017 – Jay Wohlgemuth ’88
2016 – Glenna Reed Huber ’94 & Peter Edwards ’71
2015 – Ken Levit ’83
2013 – Mark Eckenwiler ’78
2012 – Kenneth S. Brody ’88
2011 – Kenneth D. Busby ’85

Young Alumni Achievement Award Recipients

2019 – Meaghan Oppenheimer ’05
2018 – Chris White ’07
2017 – Kara Beair Butler ’02
2016 – Jennifer Barnes ’02
2015 – Micah Fitzerman-Blue ’01
2013 – Hillary Bach ’08
2012 – Sarah Adams ’99
2011  – Justin R. Thompson ’98
2010  – Christopher W. Gates ’05

2019 Distinguished Alumni Award Winners

Phil Powers ’79
Phil is the CEO of the American Alpine Club. He is a lifelong climber who made the first ascent of the Washburn Face on Denali, the first ascent of Lukpilla Brakk’s Western Edge in Pakistan, and the first winter traverse of the Tetons’ Cathedral Peaks in 1992. Phil has also climbed two 8,000-meter peaks, K2 and Gasherbrum II, without the aid of supplemental oxygen. He is the recipient of numerous climbing awards, including the American Alpine Club’s highest award for service, the Heilprin Award, in 2012. Phil has written two books on climbing: Wilderness Mountaineering and Expedition Planning. He worked for seventeen years with the National Outdoor Leadership School (NOLS) as chief mountaineering instructor and development/partnerships director.

Dan Wilk ’88
Dan is a co-creator/inventor of Adobe After Effects software. He has 18 patents for film editing/software; In 2019, he won an Academy Award in scientific and technical achievement for his team’s work on Adobe After Effects. The Scientific and Technical Oscars are awarded to those who provide extraordinary contributions to the science of filmmaking and a proven record of contributing significant value to the process of making motion pictures. The honor truly recognizes the critical role that After Effects has come to play in the motion graphics industry.


2019 Young Alumni Achievement Award Winner

Meaghan Oppenheimer ’05
Photo Credit: Izumi Hasegawa
Meaghan is a writer and actress, known for Broken (2016), Fear the Walking Dead (2015), and We Are Your Friends (2015). She is also the writer and creator of the Facebook series Queen America, a dark comedy about a renowned (and ruthless) pageant coach and a hapless Miss America contender starring Catherine Zeta-Jones.